AmberPOS vs Lightspeed Retail
A full comparison for brick-and-mortar retailers — one till or many — weighing a locally-owned, one-time-licensed system built on 30+ years of specialty-retail focus against a cloud subscription platform that bills you more with every register you add.
AmberPOS has been purpose-built for brick-and-mortar specialty retailers for more than 30 years — one till or a fleet of locations — running on a database you host and own, with a one-time license and a flat monthly fee after that. Lightspeed Retail takes the opposite approach: a fully cloud-hosted subscription where your business data lives on Lightspeed’s servers, not yours, and your bill grows with every register and location you add, for as long as you keep using it. Three decades building software exclusively for independent and multi-location retailers has taught us that the real cost of a POS system isn’t just the sticker price — it’s whether you actually own what your business runs on.
Who Each Platform Is Really Built For
Built for real physical retailers for more than 30 years. AmberPOS is engineered around what running a store actually involves — fast checkout, accurate inventory, purchasing, customer relationships, staff management — on a database you host and control, not a system you rent access to. That same foundation scales from one till to many stores.
Ecommerce is a genuine, fully integrated capability (via a BigCommerce partnership) — an extension of the retail operation, not something you’re handed as a bundled afterthought.
A cloud-subscription POS platform. Your business data lives on Lightspeed’s servers, not yours, and every register or location you add increases your monthly bill for as long as you keep using the software.
It markets itself toward a similar range of specialty retail verticals to AmberPOS — but the underlying relationship is different: you’re renting ongoing access to someone else’s system, not owning one of your own.
Feature-by-Feature Comparison
| Capability | AmberPOS | Lightspeed Retail |
|---|---|---|
| Target business | Brick-and-mortar specialty retailers — single location or multi-store | Brick-and-mortar specialty retailers — independent shops through large chains |
| Cost structure | One-time license per till + flat monthly fee | Pure subscription; cost grows with registers and locations |
| Data ownership | Local database on your own network | Fully cloud-hosted on Lightspeed’s servers |
| CRM | Built-in customer directory, no separate subscription | Built-in, unified across locations and channels |
| Loyalty program | Native Frequent Shoppers points program | Native, in-store and online |
| Item bundles / composite products | Native item baskets | Native “Composite products” |
| Staff permissions | Configurable per-employee permission levels | Custom user roles, standard on every plan |
| Ecommerce integration | Dedicated partnership with BigCommerce | Native, built into the platform |
| Payment processing fee | $0 from AmberPOS — your choice of processor, your rate | 1.5% per transaction via Lightspeed Payments, their primary option |
| Onboarding & training | 1-on-1 training with a retail expert, included in price | Onboarding/professional-services scope not publicly disclosed |
| Reporting | 500+ built-in reports, incl. open-to-buy | Real-time customizable reporting (“Insights”); depth not publicly detailed |
The real differences come down to cost structure, data ownership, and what’s actually included — covered below.
Pricing Model: One-Time License vs. Growing Subscription
Lightspeed Retail publishes three tiers — Basic, Core, and Plus — each including one register, with additional registers and locations priced separately (Lightspeed doesn’t publish those add-on rates publicly; you’ll need to talk to their sales team to get a real total for more than one till). That’s a structurally different shape than AmberPOS: every register you add to a Lightspeed account adds to a recurring bill, indefinitely, for as long as you use the software.
AmberPOS flips that shape: a one-time license per till, then a flat, predictable monthly fee after that — not a growing subscription tied to headcount of registers. See the full pricing breakdown below for real numbers on both sides.
System Architecture: You Own Your Data
AmberPOS runs on a local database on your own network, not the cloud — so your business data stays yours, stored on your own systems, under your control. It’s your system, your data, your server.
Lightspeed Retail is fundamentally a cloud-hosted subscription platform — your inventory, sales, and customer records all live on Lightspeed’s infrastructure, not yours. Lightspeed does market an “offline mode” for checkout continuity, but that doesn’t change where your data actually lives or who controls it day to day. If Lightspeed changes its pricing, its policies, or its platform, your business data is on their terms, not yours.
Growing Online, On Your Terms: Powered by BigCommerce
AmberPOS has partnered with BigCommerce — a company whose entire business is ecommerce — to give retailers a fully integrated online store the moment they’re ready to sell beyond their four walls. That’s a deliberate choice: a dedicated specialist built for nothing but ecommerce, not a secondary module bolted onto a platform trying to be everything at once.
Lightspeed bundles its own ecommerce tooling in as one more piece of a platform that’s also trying to be your POS, CRM, loyalty system, and payments processor all under one roof. When a single vendor is responsible for everything, no one piece tends to get the focus a dedicated specialist gives it. AmberPOS takes the opposite approach: run your physical store on software built exclusively for that, then connect to a specialist for the online side when you’re ready.
Curious exactly what the BigCommerce integration includes? See the eCommerce Integration section below.
Built for Your Kind of Store
AmberPOS is purpose-built for specialty brick-and-mortar retail — not a one-size-fits-all generic checkout. Store owners across these verticals run their daily operations on AmberPOS:
- Clothing & apparel
- Footwear & luggage
- Cameras & electronics
- Toys & hobby shops
- Pet shops
- Sporting goods
- Gift shops
- Vape shops
- Wine & liquor
- Guns & tactical
- Hardware stores
- Garden centers
- Books & music
- …and more
Every AmberPOS Feature, In Depth
AmberPOS runs the daily operations of brick-and-mortar retailers — one till or many. This section is a full inventory of what’s actually built into the platform, independent of how it stacks up against any competitor.
Transaction Processing & Checkout
At the heart of AmberPOS is a fast, easy-to-use transaction processing module. Integrated barcode scanning and payment processing make invoicing quick — and barcoding your inventory virtually eliminates a clerk ringing up the wrong item at checkout.
Transaction types- Invoices
- Layaways
- Quotes
- Special orders
- Gift registries
- Sales returns
- Inventory / SKU lookups
- Real-time POS transaction processing
- Scan vendor UPC or SKU / code
- Touch-screen ready
- Multi-store inventory lookups
- Loyalty points tracking & integration
- Gift cards and gift certificates
- Quick launch buttons
Payment Processing
AmberPOS partners with leading debit and credit card processors to give merchants fully integrated, fast, and secure payment processing — seamlessly, rather than through a separate external terminal.
Integrated processors- Chase Paymentech
- Element Payment Services
- Global Payments
- Vantiv Integrated Payments
- Cash and EMV chip cards
- Apple Pay and Google Wallet
- Gift cards and gift certificates — including a custom gift card printing service (pre-printed or fully custom artwork, shipped to your door)
Inventory Management
Inventory is at the heart of any retail business, and AmberPOS is a fully functional, powerful inventory management tool — for a single store or a whole fleet of locations.
Core inventory control- Inventory and UPC lookups
- Multi-store tracking, lookups, and transfers
- Best & worst seller inventory reports
- Inventory count — complete or selective
- Portable inventory scanner integration
- Variance reports and adjustments
- Transfer in/out reports and history
- In-store sub-locations and sub-location transfers
- Purchase orders with multiple vendors per SKU
- Web inventory integration (HTML descriptions, photos, web price)
- Track SKU, description, product #, and more
- Multi-dimensional category tracking, up to 4 levels deep
- Locate inventory by class, stock type, style, and vendor
- Custom attributes per item, with photos attached per SKU
- Import manufacturer UPC codes; track serial numbers
- Create custom item barcodes; support for special orders
- Individual custom size/attribute matrix, one SKU per item
- Multi-level password protection
- Units sold, on-hand, and on-order display
- Received and re-order points
- Per-SKU tax tracking (GST, PST, HST, state taxes)
- “Price includes tax” option
- Support for partial-quantity, rental items, and item baskets
- Deposit and recycling fee tracking
- Full cost tracking — sell price, list cost, landed cost, average cost, special/minimum pricing
- Automatic discount rules and instant “who bought this item” reporting
A note on comparing inventory depth to Lightspeed specifically: Lightspeed Retail’s own materials confirm multi-variant products and “Composite products” bundling, but don’t publicly document whether multiple independent attribute dimensions (like size, color, and width simultaneously) collapse into one tracked item the way AmberPOS’s matrix does, or explode into separate variant records the way most platforms work. We’re not asserting a claim either way here — see the feature matrix for what’s confirmed vs. unverified.
Reporting & Analytics
Over 500 comprehensive, customizable reports across sales, customer, vendor, specialized, inventory, and inventory-count categories — enough depth to run the business by the numbers, not just by feel.
Representative reports- Best/worst sellers by SKU, product #, or vendor
- Gross profit by date, SKU, or vendor
- Sales analysis by department, season, brand, or vendor
- Hourly, weekly, and monthly sales
- Clerk productivity and commission reports
- Monthly inventory turnover and trailing-12-month sales
- SKU benchmarking by department, vendor, or brand
- Restock reports by SKU, vendor, or transaction date
- Open-to-buy and return-on-investment reporting
- Expandable with fully custom queries
eCommerce Integration — BigCommerce
AmberPOS’s Automated Synchronization Module runs in the background, keeping your AmberPOS system and BigCommerce storefront synchronized — inventory in real time, orders and customers on demand.
Automated Synchronization Module- Inventory details (quantity on hand, pricing, dimensions, brand) synced in real or near-real time
- Online orders downloaded and synchronized on demand
- Online customers downloaded and synchronized on demand
- Mass upload of inventory items online, with instant in-store vs. online comparison
- Color-coded discrepancy detection — missing items, QOH mismatches, price mismatches
- Edit single items or perform mass updates; export inventory to CSV
- View and edit web item info (price, weight, brand, categories, images) directly inside AmberPOS, with one-click “Edit Online”
- Automated Transaction Download pulls every BigCommerce order into AmberPOS for invoicing and fulfillment, with packing slips and a QuickStats view of online sales
BigCommerce, the platform behind AmberPOS’s ecommerce integration, reports that single-page checkout improves conversion by an average of over 12%, and its Abandoned Cart Saver recovers an average of 15% of otherwise-lost sales — figures from BigCommerce’s own platform data, not an AmberPOS-specific study.
Customer Relationship Management
AmberPOS’s built-in CRM gives full control over customer management inside the same system — track sales history, run marketing campaigns, deliver personalized service, and analyze the relationship between your store and its customers.
CRM highlights- Detailed records of every customer purchase
- Custom attributes — ring size, shoe size, birthdays, and more
- Frequent Shoppers loyalty points program
- Store credit tracking, even across locations
- Current A/R tracking and monthly statements
- Form letters and mailing labels for targeted campaigns
- Tax exemptions and custom interest rates per customer
- Parent/child customer accounts
- Clerk-visible customer notes for personalized service
- Google Map integration and customer photo/ID
Multi-Store Operations
Everything above works identically for a single-location retailer. If you do run more than one store, AmberPOS adds a real-time layer on top of it:
- Real-time inventory and customer data sync across every location
- Returns processed and tracked at any location, regardless of where the item was purchased
- Gift card and store credit redemption at any location, with automatic fraud protection between stores
- Per-location performance benchmarking — best-selling inventory, top employees, and customer patterns by store
Employee Management
Manage staff across one or many stores from inside the same system — schedules, permissions, and performance, all in one place.
- Employee schedules with punch-in / punch-out tracking
- Configurable, per-employee permission levels
- Activity tracking to catch unauthorized returns, deep discounts, under/overcharging, and coupon fraud
- Separate commission tracking for sales reps vs. cashiers on every transaction
Full Training & Support
Software is only as good as your team’s ability to use it. Every AmberPOS implementation includes full, 1-on-1 training with a real retail store expert — not a self-serve help center and a hope. Our fully trained, qualified technicians set up your system and personally train the store owner and every employee on how to get the most out of AmberPOS for your specific business, including helping import your existing inventory and customer data so you start with a system that already knows your store.
Full support includes- Importing your existing items and inventory
- Importing your customers and vendors
- Setting up employees and permissions
- eCommerce integration
- QuickBooks or other accounting software integration
- Merchant payment integration
The Full Feature Matrix
Checked one by one against Lightspeed’s own current public materials, not assumed. Lightspeed’s published documentation is considerably less granular than what’s available for other competitors — a lot of specific claims simply can’t be confirmed either way, and that’s marked honestly rather than guessed at.
| Feature | AmberPOS | Lightspeed Retail |
|---|---|---|
| One-time license (not a recurring subscription) | subscription-only, per published pricing | |
| Published additional-register/location pricing | $995 CAD/till flat | not publicly disclosed |
| No per-transaction software fee | 1.5% per transaction via Lightspeed Payments |
| Feature | AmberPOS | Lightspeed Retail |
|---|---|---|
| One SKU, multi-attribute matrix (unconfirmed vs. Lightspeed) | multi-variant products confirmed; dimension cap/model unconfirmed | |
| Item bundles / composite products | “Composite products,” confirmed native | |
| Automatic low-stock-triggered purchase orders | built-in PO tools confirmed; auto-trigger unconfirmed | |
| Multiple vendors per SKU on one PO | ||
| In-store sub-locations | ||
| Serial number tracking | ||
| Rental items | ||
| Full cost tracking (landed / avg / special / min) | ||
| Per-SKU multi-tax tracking | general automated tax confirmed; multi-rate-per-item unconfirmed |
| Feature | AmberPOS | Lightspeed Retail |
|---|---|---|
| 500+ built-in reports | real-time “Insights” reporting confirmed; report count not published | |
| Open-to-buy reporting | ||
| Custom ad-hoc report queries |
| Feature | AmberPOS | Lightspeed Retail |
|---|---|---|
| Built-in CRM | confirmed native, unified across channels | |
| Native loyalty / rewards program | confirmed native, in-store and online | |
| Store credit valid across locations | ||
| Accounts receivable / monthly statements | ||
| Parent / child customer accounts |
| Feature | AmberPOS | Lightspeed Retail |
|---|---|---|
| Staff permission levels | “custom user roles,” standard on every plan | |
| Scheduling & time clock | “workforce and payroll functionality” mentioned, not detailed | |
| Fraud-detection activity tracking | ||
| Separate commission tracking (rep vs. cashier) |
| Feature | AmberPOS | Lightspeed Retail |
|---|---|---|
| Included 1-on-1 setup & training | onboarding/professional services offered; scope & cost not disclosed | |
| Locally-owned database (not cloud-hosted) | confirmed cloud-based platform (with an offline mode layered on) | |
| Native ecommerce | via dedicated BigCommerce partnership | confirmed native/built-in |
Verified against Lightspeed’s own published pricing, features, and help-center pages as of research time. A meaningful number of specific claims — variant architecture depth, purchase-order automation, scheduling detail, report count — are marked unverified because Lightspeed’s public documentation doesn’t state them either way, not because they’re assumed absent. Re-check before relying on this for a live sales conversation, since both platforms’ feature sets change.
Pricing: What It Actually Costs
Software licensing and subscription costs only. Hardware requirements vary widely for both platforms and by store setup, so hardware is deliberately excluded here to keep the comparison apples-to-apples.
Plus $39 CAD/month (≈ $28 USD/month) per till after that. No mandatory ecommerce plan bundled in.
Backed by a 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee.
Plus additional fees for every extra till. Those add-on rates aren’t publicly disclosed anywhere on Lightspeed’s site — the quoted price above only ever covers one register. You have to contact Lightspeed sales to find out what a second till, a third till, or an additional location actually costs.
Only a 14-Day Free Trial — no money-back guarantee is published once you’re a paying subscriber.
USD/CAD conversions are approximate (≈1.39 USD→CAD) and will shift with the actual exchange rate — treat them as directional, not exact. Lightspeed’s published pricing is in USD; AmberPOS’s is in CAD.
Lightspeed’s three published tiers, monthly, one register included:
| Plan | Price (USD) | ≈ CAD | Positioning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $89/mo | ≈$124/mo | Essential day-to-day operations |
| Core | $149/mo | ≈$207/mo | Positioned for growth-stage retailers |
| Plus | $289/mo | ≈$402/mo | Advanced feature set |
What isn’t public: the price of a second register, a second location, or what a real multi-till staffed store actually pays per month all-in. That’s a genuine information gap on Lightspeed’s side, not a guess we’re filling in — if you’re comparing real costs, get a direct quote for your actual till count before deciding.
AmberPOS’s model stays simple by comparison: a one-time license per till, a flat monthly fee after that, and no required ecommerce-plan tax layered on top.
On payment processing: Lightspeed’s own payments system, Lightspeed Payments, charges 1.5% per transaction. AmberPOS charges no per-transaction fee of its own. It integrates with independent processors (Chase Paymentech, Global Payments, Element, Vantiv), so you choose your own processor and negotiate your own rate instead of running through one vendor’s bundled-in payment system.
On standing behind the purchase: AmberPOS backs its license with a 90-day money-back guarantee. Lightspeed offers a 14-day free trial before you pay anything, but once you’re a paying subscriber, no money-back guarantee is published anywhere in their pricing, terms, or help documentation.
Who Should Choose Which
Choose AmberPOS if:
- You’d rather pay a one-time license than a subscription that grows with every register you add
- You want your core system and business data running on your own local database, not a third party’s cloud servers
- Your business is clothing, footwear, electronics, pet, sporting goods, vape, wine & liquor, hardware, garden, or another specialty vertical with real inventory complexity (see the full list)
- You want hands-on 1-on-1 training and setup support included, not a professional-services quote to figure out separately
- You’d rather build on BigCommerce, a platform dedicated entirely to ecommerce, than a bundled-in module
- You value 30+ years of a company focused exclusively on independent and multi-location specialty retailers
- You want a real 90-day money-back guarantee on your purchase, not just a free trial before you’re committed
Choose Lightspeed Retail if:
- You’re comfortable with your business data living on a third party’s servers rather than your own
- You don’t mind a subscription cost that increases every time you add a register or location
Frequently Asked Questions
Is AmberPOS or Lightspeed cheaper?
It depends entirely on how many tills and how long you keep the software. AmberPOS is a one-time $995 CAD license per till plus a flat $39/month — a cost that doesn’t grow on its own. Lightspeed is $89–$289 USD/month for one register, with additional-register pricing not publicly disclosed, so a real multi-till total requires a direct quote. Over several years, a one-time-license model and an ongoing subscription can land very differently — run the actual numbers for your till count and timeline.
Does AmberPOS have a loyalty program and built-in CRM like Lightspeed?
Yes — both platforms have native CRM and loyalty programs built in. This isn’t a differentiator between the two; both include it standard.
Where does AmberPOS’s business data live compared to Lightspeed’s?
AmberPOS runs on a database on your own local network — you host and control it. Lightspeed Retail is a fully cloud-hosted platform, so your data lives on Lightspeed’s servers. Lightspeed does offer an offline mode for checkout continuity, but the underlying data architecture is still cloud-based.
Does AmberPOS include training and setup support?
Yes — every implementation includes full 1-on-1 training with a qualified retail technician, covering data import, employee setup, ecommerce integration, accounting integration, and merchant payment setup, all included in the license price. Lightspeed offers onboarding and professional-services options on every tier, but the specific scope and any additional cost aren’t publicly disclosed.
Does AmberPOS offer a money-back guarantee? Does Lightspeed?
AmberPOS backs its license with a 90-day money-back guarantee. Lightspeed offers a 14-day free trial before you pay anything, but once you’ve become a paying subscriber, no money-back guarantee is published anywhere in Lightspeed’s pricing pages, terms, or help documentation.
The Bottom Line
AmberPOS has spent more than 30 years building software exclusively for independent and multi-location specialty retailers — not retrofitting a general subscription platform to fit retail. That history shows up directly in how the two systems are built: AmberPOS runs on a database you host and own, with a one-time license per till and a flat monthly fee after that. Lightspeed Retail runs entirely on its own cloud servers, charges a subscription that grows every time you add a register or location, and doesn’t publicly disclose what those additional tills actually cost. Add in AmberPOS’s $0 software-side payment fees and included 1-on-1 training, and the real question isn’t which platform has more features — it’s whether you want to own the system your business runs on, or rent ongoing access to someone else’s.